Moving Out at 8yrs. old

4 Jul

Yup, he´s 8 yrs. old and he´s moving out… of our bedroom.
We’ve been co-sleeping since the moment he was born, and now it’s coming to an end.

Plans of adding on to our house have been going for a few years, but were only made serious last December when we actually started building. Our son’s new bedroom is almost finished and, all too soon for me, I will have to learn to get used to sleeping without him.

It was really from his own insistence that we finally decided to build. My husband and I were putting it off because we didn’t want the change, but son declared that he needed his own space and was ready to sleep alone. But what about me? I don’t know if I’ll be able to sleep without having my arms wrapped around my little bundle of warmth.

The first thing people wonder when they find out that we practice co-sleeping is…

“What do you and your husband do when you… ahem, ahem”

Well, we don’t use the bedroom for that. I have friends that do, and I don’t judge them, it’s just that the idea never really appealed to us. So this big change also represents the first marital bed for us (should be interesting).

The boy is very excited. He can’t wait and asks every day when he gets to move in, or out as I see it. I guess it’s time.

I’m a big supporter of co-sleeping. If you’re wondering if it’s right for you and your family Read This Article.

Leave a Reply

